Books books books

Books have become a big part of my time since coming to Australia.

  

I never found I read much at university, other than a tonne of scientific journals everyday, so when I wanted some down time I’d usually watch a movie instead.

Now that I’m in Australia, I have found a lot of pleasure in sitting in a park, in the shade of a tree, absorbed by a good book. And who could disagree, really?

The hunger games series
became my gateway back into the reading world. If you haven’t read them, do it, now! Trust me on this, the movies have NOTHING on the books. They’re in first person, Katniss’ point of view, which allows so much more emotion to be felt for the characters! 

  

After temporarily running out of books, I borrowed The Witness by Nora Roberts. I must admit, had me hooked by the first chapter. It’s about a girl who witnessed a murder, and goes into hiding. I must admit, would make a good psychological thriller movie! So if you’re stuck for a book, pick it up!

The maze runner series was my next adventure (Maze Runner, Scorch Trails, Death Cure). Read them, even The Kill Order, which I suppose is a prequel, but after the first 3 books. I don’t know if it’s just me, but these books were scary, but scary good! (Or maybe I just have a vivid imagination?) Btw, they’re different to the movies, so forget everything you watched, because the books are a tonne better!

My next conquest is Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (hopefully you remember this was also made into a movie with the fantastic Ben Affleck and Rosemund Pike). At the moment I love it! Prepare to be updated on the progress!

Jess x

Leave a Reply

