A beehive, a giant squid and a beautiful bay- Being in Wellington

So, I took the 315am bus from Taupō to Wellington. I still think it was a good idea! Got into Wellington just after 8am, dumped my bags at my hostel (Hotel Waterloo & backpackers) and set off to explore the capital of New Zealand.

Wellington is quite small, but given that I had 2 whole days I wanted to pack in as much stuff as I could do.

The first day I headed straight for Te Papa museum. So many people I have met along my travels have said it was a must, and it was! The first exhibit I headed for was the marine exhibit (mainly to check out what molluscs they had on show), and there was a colossal squid on show!

image

It’s pretty wicked, there’s a video that accompanies it, that explains how the deep sea creature tried to at one of the fish that was caught by a fishing boat.

There’s also an earth exhibit about tectonic plates and earthquakes, and an exhibit on Gallopolli during WWI which I raced through because it was really sad and I was trying not to cry the whole time! There’s also a large exhibit on Maori culture, and much more. Plus a wicked cool exhibit on dream works animation that, unfortunately, wasn’t open when I went but peeking through the door it looked pretty sick! 

I was also advised to go to oriental bay, which was a real nice walk around the waterfront to a little beach area which was very relaxing.

image

Places to definately see, is the beehive and government libraries- both fantastic buildings, as well as old St Pauls church also pretty great if you like churches (which by now, you know I do).

image

Civic square is a great place to sit in the sun and chill, and there’s an art gallery which has some pretty great exhibits on at the moment, so go go go!

Jess xx

Leave a Reply

